I have a shell! It’s a dress!

Untitled

I am satisfied with it šŸ™‚

It is not finished yet. It requires some finishing in hand stitching:

  1. zipper and its side seam
  2. the lining of the bodice needs to be tacked down
  3. skirt hem

and it requires some magic I have yet to invent. The neckline has too much fabric at the moment (I redrew the neckline from the original pattern, I wanted it higher):
Untitled

But look at the fit around my waist!! I have a waist! And the little curve in my back!

At the back of the bodice, where the empress waist connects, there’s a tad too much ease. As you can see in the picture below.
The last minute ‘hunch back alteration’ I did worked beautifully, the bodice lies flat against my back at the top. I’ve altered my pattern block already.
Untitled

All in all I am happy šŸ™‚ Just a few more things here and there and I will certainly wear it.
Untitled

I think on a next dress I prefer fabric with a little bit of elasticity. This non-elastic fabric really makes you stand on your toes. Well worth to buy nice, good fabric though. Beautiful stuff. If you are going to pour so much energy and attention into it, you might as well work with the very best you can afford.

Leave a Reply

