Summer Dress: altering the neckline

I raised the neckline without tapering it down and now the dress stood agape at my front. So I inserted two darts. They are pretty long but it’s what my fitting told me:
Untitled
When I was satisfied with them I inserted them into the lining as well. Now I had to remake the neckline into a coherent line and restitch the lining to the fashion fabric and finish it with understitching.

Stitching lining and fabric together, securing the darts and creating a new fluent neckline:
Untitled
Trim the bits and nick the fabric before turning it over:
Untitled

turn dress so that I can redo the top stitching: stitch very close to the existing seam securing together the lining and the seam allowance of both lining and fashion fabric:
Untitled

result! No picture of it but it looks good. All it needs is a bit of pressing but the new neckline on this half is good.

now the other one: stitch lining and fabric together creating a new fluent line. Looks good from where I was stitching.
but when I flipped it over:
Untitled

Unacceptable. For one: it missed one of the nicks that were already in the lining. This would fray with wear, I fear.

Untitled

Second: on one side the stitching doesn’t end in the little trench of the existing stitching line. It misses it by a mm:
Untitled
This will give a nasty fold. Which will show on the good side as this stitching involves both the lining and the fashion fabric. Unacceptable.
Take it out, please.

Redone:
Untitled
Much better!

Perfection even. Look how nice it runs into the existing stitching line:
Untitled

Let’s have a look to the other side:
Untitled
Merde.
it missed the ‘ear’ of the dart.
Take it out please.

your wish is my command:
Untitled

I folded the ‘ear’ the other way and restitched that part:
Untitled
Good!

let’s look at the other side:
Untitled
Poep.
It messed with the lining, creating a fold. It won’t be visible while wearing but still…

time for some chocolate and a little lay down. This needs to come out and be redone.

One thought on “Summer Dress: altering the neckline

Leave a Reply

