The Gendered Nature of Being Unencumbered

The Span of My Hips

If you ask almost any woman what she would change about women’s clothes I promise you “pockets” would come up about 95% of the time (other answers: sizing consistency, for fuck’s sake; quality construction; larger sizes not just being a size 0 sized up). When I think about my closet I can name four items of clothing with pockets, and two of those are essentially useless cardigan pockets. The few pairs of pants I own don’t even have pockets!

This has been an ongoing irritation for years, and one I’ve lightly thought about in feminist terms, but it’s only recently that I realized how profoundly (the lack of) pockets affects embodiment in very gendered ways.

Earlier this week I was walking from the bus loop to work, aware of the weight of my purse on my shoulder and my tote bag in my hand. And I noticed something interesting. All the…

View original post 926 more words

One thought on “The Gendered Nature of Being Unencumbered

  1. I can’t saw to save my life, but did manage to solve the pocket problem by creating a new accessory… all because my (spare) tampon fell out (of my pocket) at the gym and I got mad. lol! seriously. works 🙂 xoxo, @PortaPocketGal

Leave a Reply

